Q: I was awarded 200 weeks of work comp payments. I had a 40 percent rating. The judge gave defendent employer credit on payments made (Which are 116 weeks). My question is My attorney fee is 25 percent. Does this fee come out before credit or after? I live in Iowa. Also the commisioner said in court papers the weeks are to begin in Sept 2010 when MMi was reached, However, Ive been paid weekly checks since Sep 09. Would this mean the first year is not included or also it is credited too?
Call us if you have legal questions. Steve Lombardi is a personal injury lawyer in Iowa. If you, your spouse or a member of your family or friends are involved in any kind of accident contact the Lombardi Law Firm. We can assist you with your claim. Don't delay, call today.
I find it ironic that you have a lawyer and yet you are here asking other lawyers to answer questions that the lawyer who is being paid to do the work should be answering. Some lawyers charge 25% rather than 1/3rd. I find myself answering their clients' questions because when you get a cut-rate lawyer you also get cut-rate services; meaning they have little time to answer your questions. In this business we all have the same cost structure for overhead, in other words we all pay the same utility rates, etc. That means cut-rate lawyers charging cut-rate fees need to make it up by offering less service and handling more cases. I guess this is just a sign of the times. To answer your question you should really ask the lawyer you hired and read the fee agreement you signed. Without seeing the agreement you and he signed and without knowing the arrangement (deferred fee during the HP) it's impossible to answer this question. Good luck.